West Bengal Assembly Election 2011 Prediction

westbengalelections2011 | Posted: May 8, 2011

Who will the next Chief minister of West Bengal? Dada -’Buddhadeb Bhattacharya’ or Didi -’Mamata Banerjee’? As the election date in West Bengal is coming closer; the question ‘Who will be the Next CM?’ is getting much louder. ‘Didi’ Mamata Banerjee has won all the election took place after 2007 and she and her party men are very much confident this time that they will win the upcoming assembly election. CPI(M) led ‘Left Front’ government has been ruled the Bengal for past 34 years but they lose their charisma after they changed their industrial policy in 2006. The ‘Nandigram Incident‘ ,‘Singur Incident’ worked as catalyst to this and opposition party like Trinamool congress grab this opportunities and improved their organization in rural areas. They raise their voices for the poop villagers and farmers and they manage to get their mass support.

This effect on all the general elections and self government election happen in the state after 2007. In Panchayat election Trinamool congress defeat Left Front in all major districts and gain the power in those districts. This continues in 2009 Lok Sabha election too. Left front lost their many confirmed seats and they get only 15 seats out of 42 constituencies. United Progressive Alliance (Trinamool Congress,Congress, SUCI) won in total 26 constituencies.

Party wise Results of Lok Sabha election 2009 in West Bengal:

Party Seats Won % of total Vote Alliance
All India Trinamool Congress 19 31.17% United Progressive Alliance
Left Front 15 Third Front
Indian National Congress 6 13.45% United Progressive Alliance
Bharatiya Janata Party 1 6.14% National Democratic Alliance
Socialist Unity Centre of India 1 None

They also defeated left front in 2010 Municipal election. It is expected that Buddhadeb Bhattacharya and his Left front lose the battle of Bengal in 2011 and we can see Mamata Banerjee as the new Chief Minister of Bengal. But in present scenario any thing can happen in Bengal. The people of Bengal will decide the faith of these politicians.

World celebrates the 150th birth anniversary of Gurudev Rabindranth Tagore

Rabindranath Tagore
Close-up on a Bengali word handwritten with angular, jaunty letters Born 7 May 1861(1861-05-07) Calcutta, Bengal Presidency, British India Died 7 August 1941(1941-08-07) (aged 80) Calcutta, Bengal Province, British India Pen name Gurudev/Bhanu Shingho

Read more

World Cup Cricket Brings Communities Together

By Neel Nanda

It has been just over a month that India has won the ICC World Cup Cricket 2011 but the celebration still continues. The journey which began on February 19th had a dramatic and spectacular closure on April 2nd.India wins the coveted World Cup after 28 years!!! As a young child I have vivid memories when India lifted the Cup in 1983, I was six years then and in my 2nd grade but the vibrations are still alive. I was in Bombay then (which is called Mumbai now) and had witnessed celebrations in the middle of the night like never before. And 28 years later Mumbai which staged the World Cup Finals experienced a spectacular euphoria.

Read more